Magnificent Raw Chocolate Peppermint Mousse

photo(1)It’s really a mind-blowing dessert!

This is simply delicious, refreshing and extremely satiating.  I have been making this recipe for years after being gifted the cookbook, I am Grateful.  I used to make it and pour it in small ramekins, lately I have been pouring the mousse in a larger ceramic dish and bringing it to small gatherings.

If you are looking for a sweet treat that is also full of healthy fats and nutrients – this recipe will answer your chocolate desires.

Here is a link to the Chocolate Mousse recipe as posted on The Recipe Renovator website.  There are some great recipes listed on that site – enjoy looking through and trying out something new.  See my renovations to the recipe asterisked below.

You will notice a few unusual ingredients listed in the mousse recipe, such as Irish Moss.  I bought a bag from Mountain Rose Herbs. The bag of Irish Moss that I purchased has moss that is already cut into small pieces.  It has lasted me for a quite a while since a little Irish Moss goes a long way.  It is very important to soak it for 12 to 24 hours for ideal results.
 
The other items can be purchased at your local health food store.
 
*Note: I have not tried the powdered Irish Moss yet – but a friend of mine did and she says it works even better.
 
**Instead of the coconut oil that is listed in the recipe I use coconut butter (you can warm the jar in some hot water if it is to hard to scoop out, then add as is)  I find this to make the consistency a bit creamier and it is what the original recipe calls for.  I also use Pacific Brand Hemp Milk (original flavor) instead of the almond milk.
 
***For the mint flavoring I add 2-3 drops of Young Living Peppermint essential oil at the very end of blending.  Personally, I love the combination of chocolate and mint.  This is completely optional and it is no big deal if you omit it.  Be sure to use a peppermint extract or  essential oil that notes on the bottle that it is safe for dietary consumption.  Please keep in mind that many essential oils brands are not meant for dietary consumption.
 
****I use maple syrup in place of agave nectar.  If you want to learn some interesting facts about agave nectar’s sad truth, click here.
 
It’s worth knowing that agave nectar is not the healthy alternative sweetener that many of us thought it was.
 
Enjoy this decadent dessert and let me know if you try making it.  Cheers to sweet and delicious desserts that are sans white refined sugar or flour products!
One thought on “Magnificent Raw Chocolate Peppermint Mousse

Leave a Reply

